Big Bang and the Law of Conservation of Matter/Energy?

In summary, it seems that no one has come up with a solution as to what happened before the Big Bang, and according to some theories, the primordial atom may have either existed forever or had been in an everlasting cycle of expansion and contraction. If the Law of Conservation of Matter and Energy is not to be violated, then how can we explain the appearance of the primordial atom?
M Telepathic
Hi, I'm a high school student and a new member, and upon reading I found something that's quite disturbing for me.
It seems that no one ever came up with a solution as to what happened before the Big Bang; I'm wondering, unless we bring in quantum fluctuations, do we have to assume that the primordial atom either existed forever or had been in an everlasting cycle of expansion and contraction? Also, if the primordial atom was this small, and it contained all the matter and energy present in the universe today, then wouldn't the atom become a black hole? If the Law of Conservation of Matter and Energy is not to be violated, then how can we explain the appearance of the primordial atom? Thanks...

Astronomy news on Phys.org
M Telepathic said:
Hi, I'm a high school student and a new member, and upon reading I found something that's quite disturbing for me.
It seems that no one ever came up with a solution as to what happened before the Big Bang; I'm wondering, unless we bring in quantum fluctuations,...

try this seminar talk
http://www.phys.psu.edu/events/index.html?event_id=1320&event_type_ids=0&span=2005-08-20.2005-12-25

it is called
Recent Advances in Quantum Cosmology
Institute for Gravitational Physics and Geometry Seminar by Parampreet Singh from Penn State
Monday at 3:00 PM in 318 Osmond (11/28/2005)

it is an audio recording from a November seminar talk

here are all the Penn State seminars. select "this semester" from the menu to get fall 2005, recent ones
http://www.phys.psu.edu/events/index.html