Could Dark Energy be Dark Matter cooling?

In summary, the program talked about dark matter, dark energy and dark flow. There are questions that should have been asked but the presenter is not a physicist so he doesn't know the answer. Dark energy is a mystery and has been called the cosmological constant. Most of the time physicists have been proven wrong when new theories are developed and tested. We don't know if dark energy obeys the laws of physics as we know it. However, if it does, maybe I'll coin a word for it and become famous.
Reverend2010
Hi Clever People,

I've been watching an amazing program about dark matter, dark energy and dark flow. I thought there were questions that should have been asked, but then I'm a website designer - what do I know!

So... as an interested non-physicist, my apologies if this question is ridiculous...

If Dark Energy is what is causing the 'empty' regions of deep space to expand / accelerate, could it be due to Dark Matter cooling down? Or heating up? Or perhaps even multiplying - like cell-division?

I mean, if we're not quite sure what Dark Matter is except that it behaves totally differently from anything else, could it behave as above?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Your idea is completely far out. Dark matter is stuff and it is manifest by gravitational effect only. Dark energy is a complete mystery - accelerating the expansion of the universe.

Dark energy is also called the cosmological CONSTANT...it is a constant is all frames of reference and so cannot be heat energy...you might gain an understanding of this by reading about the Unruh effect...
how Einstein figured out it is a constant I don't know, but there seems to be general agreement it IS a constant...

You might find some interesting reading here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark_energy

Of course, most of the time most physicsts have over history been proven WRONG...as new theories are developed and tested...so who knows...

Naty1 said: