May please have some career advice

In summary, the conversation is about a new member of a Physics forum seeking advice on pursuing a physics degree without taking A level math. Some suggestions include fixing the math weakness by taking a higher level GCSE, doing AS level mathematics, and looking into universities that offer fundamental physics programs for those without A level math. It is mentioned that having a good BSc is important for research and potential teaching opportunities. Lastly, the conversation touches on the importance of putting in effort and mastering basic math and physics concepts before pursuing higher level degrees.
Ant92
Hello, I am new to Physics forum, and i have found that this site offers great advice to those who need it, I am sixteen and have just started A level physics, I am really enjoying it, and i wish to possibly take this to Uni as a undergraduate for further study at Bacholer, masters and maybe some day Phd level, but since i was not allowed to take A level math, since i toke it at foundation level in GCSE, many people are opposed to that idea saying that i probably could not do University Physics it due to this. This has begun to worrie me now and i would like any advice on my issue.

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't see why you can't fix your Maths weakness.

Why not do a GCSE higher in Maths this year?

Then next year do AS level mathematics.

The following thread has many tips for doing physics without the full A level:

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=253932

There is a University near me that allows those who have not taken A level in math the chance to do fundamental physics which leads into a normal Bsc course, I thought this would be brilliant, But I was just wondering whether i could do this and still possibly go on to higher degrees and research work, and possibly to teach when I have a Bsc?

Ant92 said: