A little help if you aren't busy

• Thread starter 1st2fall
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses some conceptual questions related to physics, such as the behavior of a hanging ball and the difference between static and kinetic friction. It also touches on the interaction between solid objects and the role of electric repulsion in preventing them from passing through each other.
1st2fall
So I'm relatively new to the world of physics (Junior in high school) and I'm having a little trouble sometimes with piecing together some things. These are NOT homework questions, I have read the rules on that thank you, these are some conceptual questions more than anything. I'd love to better understand these things in part because I don't understand them now and in part because I'd like to learn more intricate parts of physics when I'm able to. Anyways...

When you have a ball fixed hanging from a string, with another string hanging below that and you tug sharply on the lower string it is able to remove the string and not the ball however when you tug slowly on the string and gradually add tension you can sever the connection of the upper string and it's fixture. I don't quite understand why exactly. It makes sense in that I've seen it done, I just don't understand what is acting differently. When you tug quickly, you're accelerating the string downward and it should have a quick application of a large force? and when you tug slowly it somehow spreads more through the whole system? I don't quite get something here... (I know this is very basic but I'm not quite sure what is going on)