Control a motor remotely with cell phone signals

In summary: DC motor with a cell phone, including the ability to receive temperature data from the motor. Various methods of communication and control are suggested, such as using GSM modems or Bluetooth modules. It is mentioned that a custom PCB and circuit may be necessary, and that the size of the final device is a consideration. The use of GSM modems is explained, and a link to development boards for this purpose is provided.
kpk250
Hey Guys,
I'm a mechanical engineer (please forgive my ignorance) with an electrical engineering problem. I'm trying to control a small DC motor with speed and duration controls using a remote cell phone. I might also like the ability to receive temperature data from the motor back at the cell phone. Can this be done? How? Do they sell off the shelf cell phone receivers or something similar for this purpose?

Thanks for your time and help,
Kris

Engineering news on Phys.org
You can buy gsm modems that simply take a SIM card and will make and receive SMS messgaes and send them out on a serial port.
Then you just need a small computer (like an Arduino) to read the commands and control the motor

Welcome to Physics Forums kpk250. My first thought of a way is to use SCADA but I'm not sure how you could interface with a cell phone. There's a wiki page on it.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCADA"

Last edited by a moderator:
Well i guess in envisioned a very small final form for this device. Say 1in x 1in x 2in long. I know that probably means a custom PCB and circuit right? But maybe I can use an existing circuit and design and shrink it down and strip away the unnecesary components/functionality.