Mass of star as function of Luminosity, Temperature and size

In summary, the conversation discusses the mathematical relations for determining the mass of a star based on its luminosity, surface temperature, and radius. The standard Main Sequence Luminosity-Mass relation is mentioned, as well as the need for a stronger relation. The concept of "Main Sequence stars" on a Hertzsprung-Russell diagram is also brought up, along with the Luminosity-Temperature function needed to draw the "S" shaped curve on the diagram. It is noted that there are discontinuities in the relationship at certain mass values, and that building a stellar model requires taking into account various factors such as metallicity. Ultimately, it is concluded that there are no simple formulae for determining the mass of a star
Barnak
Hello all,

First, since I'm just a physics teacher, and not an astrophysicist, my questions may sound "obscure" or badly formulated. Especially since I'm not an English native speaker. Sorry about that :shy:

I need a mathematical relation which could give the mass of a "theoretical" star as a function of its Luminosity, surface Temparature and possibly its Radius. I already know the standard Main Sequence Luminosity-Mass relation :

[tex]\frac{L}{L_{Sol}} = (\frac{M}{M_{Sol}})^a[/tex]

where typically [tex]3 < a < 4[/tex], and [tex]a \simeq 3.4[/tex]. This could be inverted to give the Mass as a function of the Luminosity. However, I would like something "stronger", if such a relation exists. So suppose I have access to the star's Luminosity, surface Temperature and Radius, what would be its theoretical Mass ?

M(L, T, R) = ?

I'm not taking any metallicity into account here.