How Is Equilibrium Temperature Calculated in Isolated Thermodynamic Systems?

In summary, a mechanical engineering student has two questions for homework that they were unable to solve due to missed classes. The first question involves determining the final equilibrium temperature of an isolated system consisting of a 10 kg copper block and 0.2 kg of saturated water vapor. The second question involves finding the final temperature and calculating the heat transfer of a cylinder with ammonia at 1 MPa and 60 0C, and a spring constant of 150 kN/m. The student is advised to read the corresponding chapter in their textbook and attempt the questions before seeking help.
berthanas
hi I'm a mechanical engineering student. I've 2 questions as homework for tomorrow but since I've missed couple of classes i couldn't solve them. i'd appreciate if you may help me with these:

1.) An isolated system consists of a 10 kg copper block, initially at 30 0C , and 0.2 kg of saturated water vapor, initially at 130 0C.Assuming no volume change, determine the final equilibrium temperature of the isolated system.

2.) A cylinder fitted with a piston restrained by a linear spring has a cross-sectional area of 0.05 m2.The cylinder contains ammonia at 1 MPa ,60 0C, and a volume of 20L.The spring constant is 150 kN/m.Heat is rejected from the system, and the piston moves until 6,25 kJ of work has been done on the ammonia.

a.) Find the final temperature of the ammonia.

b.) Calculate the heat transfer for the process.

thanx already...

Physics news on Phys.org
Well the policy here is to show your work, why don't you read the chapter of your book on this, and then post your attempt?

Hi there! I am happy to help you with your thermodynamics questions. Let's take a look at each question and work through them together.