Career Guidance for Applied Math Ph.D.

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on their career path as a 2nd year graduate student in applied math. They are considering alternative options to an academic career and are interested in potential career paths, improving their chances, and finding a stable and lucrative career. They also mention their interest in moving to New York in the future. They are already spending time coding and are wondering about internships and the difficulty of finding an interesting position. The main factor for their career options will be their skills and what they can offer employers.
tobefree
Hi all,
I am hoping to get some advice re: my career path. I have lurked these threads for a bit and I can see there's quite a bit of wisdom here, but I am hoping to get some particularly tailored to my situation. I am a 2nd year grad student at a top-10 applied math Ph.D. program, but I am beginning to rethink an academic career path. I like the university setting but I don't know if I want to spend the rest of my life here, and I am not interested in years chasing postdocs only to be denied tenure in 10 years. I would like to explore alternative (i.e. industry) career options for when I finish my Ph.D-- I like my current program and I enjoy my research but I think I might be done when I graduate. My research is in PDEs and ODEs.
Can anyone give me a rundown on potential career paths and what I can do in grad school to improve my chances? I already spend quite a bit of time coding. I am interested in moving to NY eventually because my girlfriend wants to settle down there. Ideally, I would like a career that is engaging, relatively stable, and somewhat lucrative. What is the time frame for internships, etc? How hard will it be for me to find some kind of interesting position? What are the downsides?

Thank you all for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org

1. What career options are available for someone with an Applied Math Ph.D.?