Light Frequencies: Exploring Visible & Beyond

In summary, light in a vacuum travels at the same speed regardless of its frequency. In transparent media, there may be a slight difference in speed due to dispersion, which is caused by the relationship between frequency and wavelength. The full spectrum of light, including ultraviolet and infrared, is always present in light. The same is true for sound, where all frequencies travel together at the same speed. However, in media with different refractive indices, there may be a slight difference in speed between different frequencies.
EVT
My first post... I'm studying physics at school (9th grade) and learned that light has lots of different frequencies above/below visible spectrum. I also know that the speed of light is a constant (300Kps). My question is, does light (all frequencies) travel together like one multilayered wave... leaving and arriving at the same time? I just don't see how the light in the complete spectrum can travel at the same speed. Doesnt make sense. Is sound the same way? I know we have audible frequencies and inaudible. When a sound is struck, does all the sound from 1 Hz to 1MHZ (or whatever the highest is) all move together at the same speed?

One final question. When I turn on a light bulb, does it have all of the frequencies, even though I only see certain wavelengths? Is the full spectrum always present in light, even ultraviolet and infrared?

Sorry if my questions are too basic. I can't find the answers in my textbook, and I'm a bit introverted so I don't like to ask my teacher in class.

THANK YOU!

Science news on Phys.org
In normal media, all frequencies of sound and light have the same propagation velocity.

In general, a light bulb will produce non-zero quantities of electromagnetic radiation all over the spectrum. It is very nearly a "blackbody" or thermal radiator, and the blackbody radiation curve does not fall to zero.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_body