VMI Major Selection: Advice for Future Air Force Pilot

In summary, the individual is a new member of the forum and has been accepted into Virginia Military Institute. They plan to join the U.S. Air Force after graduation and are unsure of which major to pursue at VMI. They are considering Mechanical Engineering, Physics, or Mathematics and are seeking advice from others. VMI has all four ROTC programs and the individual is aware of the requirements for becoming a pilot. They are also concerned about the difficulty of Mechanical Engineering as a major. Overall, they are encouraged to explore their options and speak with professors and join clubs to gain a better understanding of each major's curriculum. Time management and dedication will be essential in succeeding in any of these challenging disciplines.
xelnanga
Hello everyone, this is my first time here on this forum and I was just wondering something for a very very long time.

I was accepted into Virginia Military Institute and will be attending this fall '09.

I intend to upon graduation, enter the U.S. Air Force and become a pilot.

However, the main question is the major I should take at VMI. I don't know whether to major in Mechanical Engineering, Physics, or Mathematics.

The pros of majoring in physics at VMI is that there are maybe 4 to 6 people in the entire school majoring in Physics in a class. So I will definitely receive a lot of attention.

However I've been hearing more and more that ME is the major to go since I should know the workings of the airplanes and what not.

Currently I receive easy A's and A+s in my physics and calc bc class.

If anyone can give me some advise that'd be great. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Congrats getting into VMI, and welcome to PF!

The good news is you don't have to decide right away. In the first 1 to 2 years, there's not a lot of difference between the curricula. The paths are similar enough that you can wait a while before deciding.