Selecting a university for a Physics PhD

In summary, a physics graduate from Sri Lanka is seeking advice on selecting a university for a Physics PhD program. Their research interests are Condensed Matter Physics and Nanophysics and their credentials include a UGPA of 3.91, GRE scores of 790 (Quantitative) and 310 (Verbal), GRE Physics score of 750, and TOEFL score of 95. They have been accepted with a Teaching Assistantship at University of Virginia, Iowa State University, Washington State University, and are awaiting a decision from Purdue University. They are seeking insight into the Physics programs at these universities and have received a recommendation for Iowa State University due to its proximity to research facilities.
sachithd83
Hi all,

I am a physics graduate from Sri Lanka. I applied for several universities for Physics PhD program(Fall 2009). I want your help to select the best university for me. My research interests are Condensed Matter Physics and Nanophysics. My credentials are as follows.

UGPA - 3.91, GRE - Quan:790 Ver:310, GRE PHYSICS - 750, TOEFL - 95

I was accepted from the following universities, with a Teaching Assistantship.
University of Virginia, Iowa State University, Washington State University, Washington University - St. Louis (Hopefully in this week).
Still waiting for a decision from Purdue University.

I want to know what will be the best graduate program for me to pursue my career in the above fields. I'm wondering if anyone can give me some insight into above schools Physics programs.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Physics news on Phys.org
All of them are wonderful universities, so congratulations, first of all.

As far as condensed matter is concerned, Iowa State is VERY well-known. It's proximity to Ames lab (it runs that lab for the Dept. of Energy) and also its proximity to the Wisconsin synchrotron center allow for many condensed matter experiments to be done. So you can't go wrong if you go there.

Zz.