Help Improve Guitar Skills: Tips from Experienced Players

• Thread starter KLscilevothma
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Guitar
In summary: Play each scale in every position on the fretboard. Really get to know them. After you know each scale, start learning songs that use those scales.Oh Right :blush: well erm... We shut up.
KLscilevothma
I've been teaching myself guitar for about 2 months and I get addicted to it already. :wink: Now I can play simple songs, like the first half of Romance de a'mour. I can memorize the fingerings of several chords, but I find practising how to play chords is pretty boring. So I prefer practising songs.

I know some of you guys know how to play the guitar well. So do you have any suggestions for me on how to improve my skills? Also I downloaded a software called Guitar Pro and it's really a great software. :approve:

Physics news on Phys.org
Play Bach's Toccata about a hundred times, until you've well and truly got it nailed. Very good exercise. Then try Thunderstruck by AC/DC. Mix it up a little, try different things.

Sweet Child O'mine, Fantastic.

How'd you teach yourself? I'm kinda wanting to do the same.

I downloaded Bach's Tocata and Sweet Child O'mine. Both of them contain notes with fret numbers larger than 13, which I think is difficult to play. Perhaps it's because the design of the guitar isn't very good?

I started teaching myself guitar by reading books and browsing websites. This is a good one and it teaches you how to tune your guitar and read guitar tablature . After knowing how to read guitar tab, you'll probably know how to play songs or chords. http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/f/p/fpm108/glw/lessons/index.htm

Then I installed a software called Guitar Pro, which I think is very useful. I then downloaded lots of songs written by Guitar Pro and started practising simple songs. Then go on to play more complicated ones.