Uncovering the Solution to M-Theory: A Lagrangian Approach?

• Thread starter Schreiberdk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    M-theory
In summary, the ABJM model is a 2+1-dimensional field theory which is believed to be exactly, "holographically" equivalent to M theory on a particular 11-dimensional background (AdS4 x S7). It has led to more results, but BLG's use of 3-algebras might be a clue to M-theory's deep structure.
Schreiberdk
Hi there PF.

I am a bit curious of how we are going to solve M-theory. Do we just need to find a Lagrangian, describing all of the dynamics of the theory? or is more needed? And how do one find such a Lagrangian? From what principles do we derive it?

I am no expert on string theory, I have just been reading a lot about it and i was curious of this problem :)

Schreiber

Physics news on Phys.org
To discover the fundamental structure of the theory, I think the single most promising path to take is to explore the http://arxiv.org/abs/0909.1580" [Broken], which is a version of the "AdS/CFT correspondence". The ABJM model is a 2+1-dimensional field theory which is believed to be exactly, "holographically" equivalent to M theory on a particular 11-dimensional background (AdS4 x S7). Solve that model and you have solved a sector of M theory.

Last edited by a moderator:
M-theory can't be solved because we didn't include some essential feature. In the 1950's for example. It was taboo to talk about branes or higher dimensional world and stuff. You would be labelled as a crackpot if you mentioned those to physicists, now all physicists talk about it. We have a very similar situation now. There is another field that is currently label as crackpottry but will be part of physics in maybe 50 to 100 years from now. It is then that we can solve for M-theory or at least its equivalent if nature doesn't choose strings as an option.

rogerl said: