Succeed in Math: Tips & Strategies for Students

• Thread starter chez_butt23
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation revolves around a student struggling with math and seeking advice on how to improve. Suggestions include practicing, using online resources, and understanding the practical applications of math in different fields. Some individuals find math interesting because it is like solving a puzzle and has real-world applications.
chez_butt23
Hello all,

I am a freshman Evolutionary Biology and East Asian Studies double major at a prestigious university in the US. Although I love school and have done fairly well in most of my classes, I find myself really struggling with math. My first quarter of calculus, I ended up with a D and last quarter I retook the class with a different teacher and got a C+. My goal has always been to get a PhD in Either Biology or History and I am concerned that my sub-par math grades will haunt my grad-school applications.

This quarter I am taking the next calculus class in the series (2/3). I am planning on finding a tutor, forming a study group etc, but I have done this for the last two quarters and I obviously have not done too great. What do all of you do to learn math, especially when you do not find it to be interesting?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm only a Math minor (CS major) but the key to lower mathematics like single variable Calculus is just practice. Honestly, the professor can't throw anything too crazy at you, most problems would be from the book.

I can't think of one Calc I/II problem that can't be plug and chugged into some function/lemma/corallary. You're a Bio major right, shouldn't you be good at memorizing stuff? haha

Memorizing those things is certainly not a good solution.

I know you don't find this interesting, but you'll have to put in some time anyway. Here are some suggestions:

- Go to Khan academy and look at the calculus videos
- Get a good tutor
- Use this site to ask questions