2 Bits of help neede for study Logarithm+Complex number

• Thread starter Supernovah
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Bits Study
In summary, In order to solve for the cube root of a complex number in polar form, you first need to find the square root in polar form, and then use Euler's formula to convert it back into Cartesian form.
Supernovah
Hey there I'm studying for end of year exams and can't figure out how to do these 2 questions:

1) Express [tex]\log_{10}(2\sqrt{10}) - \frac{1}{3}\log_{10}0.8 - \log_{10}(\frac{10}{3})[/tex] in the form [tex]c + \log_{10}d[/tex]

2) Simply finding the cube root of a complex number in polar/cartesian form ie: [tex] (x+yi)^3 = 8i [/tex]

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
for 1) do you remember the properties of a logarithm?
log(a/b)=loga-logb
log(ab)=loga+logb
log(a^b)=bloga

can't help you with 2) though :/

Yeah but How do I raise the whole thing with there being a [tex]\frac{-1}{3}[/tex] Multiplier there?

Oh I see now, [tex]\sqrt[3]{0.8} = 0.2[/tex]

AH! I mean, [tex]\sqrt[3]{0.8} = 0.92...[/tex]

Last edited:
yes and then since you have a log - a log you can simplify that, but I don't know how you would get c+log d unless one of those terms simplifies nicely into a base 10 log.

the answer scheme says the answer is [tex]\log_{10}3 - \frac{1}{6}[/tex]

well expanding everything you'd get:
[tex]log_{10}(2)+.5log_{10}(10)-\frac{1}{3}log_{10}(4)-\frac{1}{3}log_{10}(5)-log_{10}(10)-log_{10}(3)[/tex]

but I don't see how they got 1/6..

Supernovah said:
2) Simply finding the cube root of a complex number in polar/cartesian form ie: [tex] (x+yi)^3 = 8i [/tex]

Do it the easy way: translate that Cartesian form that you have into polar form (radius and angle in the form [tex]r e^{i t}[/tex]), find a cube root (straightforward in polar form) and translate that back into Cartesian form.

Last edited: