Where to Gain Clinical Experience for a Transition into Medical Physics?

In summary, the best route for someone with a PhD in Biomedical Physics to gain the necessary clinical experience for a return to medical physics depends on where they live. In the US or Canada, the best option would be to find a CAMPEP accredited medical physics residency program, but competition may be high. Another option would be to seek a non-accredited program or a post-doc position that offers clinical experience. However, starting in 2012, completion of a CAMPEP accredited training program will be required for eligibility to take the ABR certification exam.
Rad0302
Greetings,
I have a PhD in Biomedical Physics, research in radiation biology and now a faculty position in cell and molecular biology. I want to return to medical physics but I lack the clinical courses needed, what is the best route to get this experience? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends entirely on where you live.

If you're in the US or Canada, the best route is to find a CAMPEP accredited medical physics residency program. There aren't a lot of them so competition is pretty high.

Alternatively, try to find a non-accredited program or a post-doc position that will offer you the clinical experience.

In the very near future (2012 I believe), eligibility to take the ABR certification exam will require completion of a CAMPEP accredited training program.

Hello,