Uncertainty and the Mean, Standard Deviation

In summary, when calculating the t-test, it is important to include the absolute uncertainties of both the mean and standard deviation in order to accurately determine the number of standard deviations from the expected value.
e2m2a
I am an independent researcher doing a physics experiment. I have collected data and want to report the data with the uncertainities included, etc. I have taken a set of readings and I know how to calculate the mean and standard deviation. What I don't know is do I include the absolute uncertainties of each measurement when calculating the mean and standard deviation? For example, I want to calculate a t-test defined as:

|mean - expected value|
t-test = --------------------------
standard deviation

so that I can determine the number of standard deviations of the mean from the expected value. In this formula do I include the net absolute uncertainties for the mean and the standard deviation before I calculate the t-test?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, you should include the absolute uncertainties of each measurement when calculating the mean and standard deviation. This will help to give you an accurate result for the t-test. You should also be sure to take into account any other factors that may affect the accuracy of your measurements such as random errors or systematic errors.