Need help with confirming if this 555 timer circuit with transistor will work?

In summary, an electrical engineer student at SIU is working on a personal project to supply a current between 450-600 mA using a 555 timer, 2N2222 transistor, and 4 AA batteries in series. The circuit setup includes resistors and capacitors on the 555 timer and resistors on the transistor. The 4 AA batteries supply 6 volts to the 555 timer, which produces a square wave output with a 400 ms on and 300 ms off. To increase the current output, a transistor is added to the output of the 555 timer, but there may be a phase problem in using both to supply the current. It is suggested to use a power transistor with a heatsink instead.
SF49ER
I am an electrical engineer student at SIU and I'm working on an personal project where I am trying to use the following items to supply current between 450-600 mA:

555 timer
2N2222 transistor
4 AA batteries in series for 6V
Resistors and capacitors on 555 timer while just resistors on transistor

I set up the circuit to have the 4 AA batteries supply 6 volts to the 555 timer. With a couple of resistors, and capacitors i have a square wave output with about 400 ms on and 300 ms off. I wanted to use the timer to supply the 400 mA but it could only send 200mA max so i decided to put an transistor (2N2222) on the output of the 555 timer with an resistor to reduce the current to the base. I also ran the emitter to the ground.My question is that if I also ran the output of the timer (around 5V) so that when the timer is on this output will supply voltage to two small value resistors in parallel and use the current from those to supply the needed current to my ouput that requires the value.

I tried this as well in multisim and I got the current that i needed confirmed by connecting a multimeter in series with the collector of the transistor.