What is the meaning and origin of Young's Modulus in building materials?

In summary, the physics behind Young's modulus is related to the stiffness of a material's individual atomic bonds. Stronger bonds generally result in higher stiffness. Polymers are relatively compliant (soft) because for small strains, you're just straightening out the chains rather than stretching the covalent bonds.
phyzzy_physh
Hi everyone, :smile:

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, I'm still relatively new to the forum. :blushing:

I'm an engineer studying Young's modulus in building materials. I have a passing interest in physics, but let's say my knowledge of the subject is far from exhaustive! :rolleyes:

I'm interested in finding out the physics behind Young's modulus, and what causes/changes it. The books I've found so far detail how to measure it, and what it is as a physical property (i.e. stress over strain), but not the intrinsic meaning of it or where it comes from.

If anyone could offer any physics wisdom on this, or even point me in the direction of texts/papers discussing it, you'd really be helping me out; I've hit a bit of a dead end at the moment.

Cheers,

Phyzzy Physh :shy:

Physics news on Phys.org
You'd probably enjoy looking at a mechanics of materials book (like Callister, Dowling, or Courtney). Young's elastic modulus is related to the stiffness of a material's individual atomic bonds. Stronger bonds generally result in higher stiffness. (Stronger bonds also generally result in higher melting temperatures, so more refractory materials are frequently stiffer.)