Why am I hearing audible noise from my SMPS?

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on a noise issue with their buck converter circuit. They have tried changing the switching frequency and using a shielded inductor, but the noise persists. It is suggested that the noise may be caused by magnetostriction or a poorly assembled core. The individual then tried adding a larger output capacitor and the noise disappeared. They are now looking for the proper capacitance to use. It is also mentioned that capacitors can sometimes make sounds due to their materials. The individual is advised to check for any flaws in their circuit design as a duty cycle of 100% or 90% is not possible with their setup.
victorb
Hello, I'm a newbie for this forum, and I don't have much practical experience on SMPS too. I found this forum when I'm searching for my solution from internet.

My Circuit:
I'm using a simple buck converter:
Vin: 24V
Vout:3.3V
Iout: 1.5A (dynamic load)

The loading is running in PWM control, that means sometime it will draw around 1.5A and sometime it will draw around 0.05A, the PWM's frequency is about 250Hz.
The converter is fine when I'm running it at fully ON (100% duty-cycle) and fully OFF (0% duty-cycle).
But when I'm running it from 30% to 90% (duty-cycle), I can hear some audible noise (humming) clearly from the circuit.

As I didn't hear the noise at fully OFF mode, so I think DCM is not the reason.

I tried to remove the buck converter's inductor, and plug in a 3.3V at the converter output directly, then the noise disappeared, so I think the noise is from the converter circuit.

I tried to replace the inductor with another brand and bigger size (higher current rating) inductor, the noise seems reduced slightly (the original inductor's current rating is about double of the converter's output current already), and both of them are shielded inductor with EPOXY potted already, so more EPOXY may not be helped.