Preparing for College Math: Tips and Resources

In summary, the speaker is a recent high school graduate who is planning to enroll in college in Fall 2010. They are looking for recommendations on how to effectively prepare for first-year college-level mathematics, particularly in calculus and pure mathematics, in the next eight months. They have a strong background in AP Calculus BC and some other mathematics topics, but are lacking experience in proofs. They are seeking advice on books, methods, websites, and habits to help them excel in their college math classes. Some suggestions include looking at their college's website for course outlines and notes, purchasing a first-year calculus textbook, and practicing end-of-chapter problems. The speaker is not too worried about the transition and believes that with a strong foundation, they will
srinathreddy
Hi folks. I'm entirely new to this forum, so I hope I'm asking this question at the right place. I'm a recent high school graduate waiting to enroll in college in Fall 2010. In general, I'm free for the majority of the next eight months.

I hope to spend this time effectively transitioning into collegiate-level mathematics. In particular, I hope to be prepared for first-year theoretical developments of calculus (for a reference, see the honors calculus programs at http://math.uchicago.edu/~ershov/16100/" ) and for some degree of study in pure mathematics. My major will not be in mathematics and likewise, I don't wish to study mathematics because I want to become a mathematician or anything like that. I just hope to develop my logical thinking skills while learning enough math to supplement my course of study.