Undergrad Physics Books - Authors, Titles, ISBNs & Prices

In summary, the conversation discusses recommendations for undergraduate physics books. The original poster is a first year undergrad physics student looking for well-written, clear, and helpful books that cover both concepts and problem solving. Some suggested books include University Physics, The Feynman Lectures on Physics, Physics for Scientists and Engineers, and books by Griffiths, Halliday and Resnick, Symon, Park, and Schroeder. Some links to online resources for physics textbooks are also provided. The conversation also includes a discussion about the usefulness of The Feynman Lectures for beginners and the availability of algebra/trig based physics books.
mattmns
I hope I am not being redundant with a topic like this. I did a search but did not come up with much.

What are the authors/titles/isbn/price(etc) of some great undergrad physics books?

I am currently a first year undergrad physics student, and I would like any books that will be a big help throughout all of undergrad physics. Books that you all think are well written, very clear, etc. Any book/s that does a good job with both concepts and problem solving.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
don't know if they fit your view of 'greatness'...:rofl:
I am reading University Physics accompanied with The Feynman Lectures on Physics.

I have heard a lot of good things about the Feynman lecture books, and I will also check out University Physics. Thanks!

Here's a link to the book my school uses for beginning calc-based physics:

For many more great textbooks for undergraduates, I highly recommend you to go the http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/Physics/index.htm and click on the different physics classes offered. You'll then have access to notes, test questions, etc.. If you click on the syllabus, you can find out which book that particular class is using.

Halliday and Resnick - Physics (older editions)
Symon - Mechanics