From Physics to Medicine: The Journey of a Student's Career Decisions

In summary, In vorcil's opinion, if he were to go back before he started his undergraduate study, he would change to medicine because he has a strong interest in the field and he enjoys patient contacts. He would also pursue a doctorate in computational neuroscience.

If you could go back in time, would you switch your degree to medicine or another maj

• Yes, Switch to medicine

Votes: 3 15.8%
  • No, Stay with physics or other natural science

Votes: 14 73.7%
  • Yes, another major

Votes: 2 10.5%

• Total voters
vorcil
If you were to go back before you started your undergraduate study

Would you change to medicine?

I finished my physics degree but I'm now doing medicine

Biology news on Phys.org
probably switch to full engineering or full physics or full maths, instead of my half physics half engineering

I had no interest in studying medicine then. I have no interest in studying medicine now. I have no interest in finding a closed timelike curve so that I could now study medicine then.

vorcil said:
I finished my physics degree but I'm now doing medicine

Why the change in majors, may I ask??

EE made the most sense to me at the time, but now that I work part time as an EMT, I've found that I enjoy patient contacts quite a bit (even the difficult patients). If I knew then what I know now, I probably would have pursued the MD route, and probably would have specialized in Emergency Medicine.

Have you done any work with patients yet? What sparked your interest in medicine?

A very bright EE that I met in grad school and worked with for a few years after graduation (we both worked for Bell Labs at the time) decided that he wanted to go back to Med School to switch careers to medicine. He became a very successful doc, specializing in high-risk pregnancies. Impressive, and he says he loves the choice he made to change.