Are Faithful Representations the Most Interesting Group Representations?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of a 'faithful representation' in group theory, which is defined as an injective homomorphism from a group G to the Automorphism group of an object S. The conversation also explores the idea of a 'surjective restriction' of a representation, which is essentially the same as the original representation but with a restricted codomain. It is concluded that for every faithful representation, the surjective restriction is an isomorphism. The conversation also touches upon the idea of whether faithful representations are 'boring' and the relationship between group actions and representations.
BruceW
Homework Helper
Hello everyone!
I've been learning some basic group theory (I'm new to the subject). And I had a (hopefully) fairly simple question. OK, so a 'faithful representation' is defined as an injective homomorphism from some group G to the Automorphism group of some object. Let's call the object S for now. (I'm speaking more generally than just linear representations). So, to use some mathematical notation, we have ##\phi : G \rightarrow Aut(S)## where ##\phi## is the homomorphism.

Now, we can define another representation ##\theta## to be the surjective restriction of ##\phi## (meaning ##\theta## is essentially the same as ##\phi##, but with the codomain restricted to the image of ##\phi##). Therefore, ##\theta## is an injective surjective homomorphism, meaning it is an isomorphism. So I guess now, my question is: does my logic make sense? To summarize: for every faithful representation, the surjective restriction of that representation is an isomorphism.