Gravitational waves and quantum physics

In summary: Then you can apply the usual perturbation theory to get the quantum corrections. However, once the amplitude becomes significant, the perturbation theory breaks down and a full theory of quantum gravity is needed.In summary, gravitational waves are typically modeled in terms of general relativity because at low amplitudes, quantum effects are not significant and can be ignored. However, quantizing gravity waves becomes more difficult at higher amplitudes, requiring a full theory of quantum gravity.
madness
If gravitational waves have such tiny amplitudes (typically several orders of magnitude smaller than a proton), then why do we model them entirely in terms of general relativity? Aren't quantum effects important at this scale?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert, but I think you should use de broglie wavelength (or something similar) to estimate quantum effects, therefore amplitude is not so important, wavelength is.

But what would the de broglie wavelength of spacetime be? o_O

I don't think there is a current way for QM to describe gravity waves (I'm not so familiar with the forefront of quantum gravity). I think gravity waves are exclusively in the realm of GR, for now.

Matterwave said:
But what would the de broglie wavelength of spacetime be? o_O
something similar? :)
I don't know, maybe the de broglie wavelength of a graviton?
I'm not saying this is the answer, but this is a nice problem, I would like to know the solution.

I don't think your answer is right. The answer I've heard is that the mechanisms in the source and detector are both modeled well using classical relativistic physics. However that doesn't seem good enough to me.

madness said:
If gravitational waves have such tiny amplitudes (typically several orders of magnitude smaller than a proton), then why do we model them entirely in terms of general relativity? Aren't quantum effects important at this scale?