Complex Derivative and Real Multivariable Derivative

In summary, complex analysis is a field of mathematics that deals with functions that are not just real, but also complex. The derivative is a way to describe how a function changes over time, and it is important to have a real and a complex derivative in order to correctly calculate the change. It is also important to be able to say that a function has a complex derivative if it has a real derivative, and the real linear approximation is also complex linear.
cathode-ray
Hi!

I'm studying complex analysis and I don't quite understand why the complex derivative was defined the way it is, and how it is related to the definition of the derivative of a real multivariable function.

Physics news on Phys.org
Which equivalent defiition are you referring to? The usual definition is analogous to the real case.
f'(z)=lim [f(z+h)-f(z)]/h

One possible source of confusion (though this is also standard) is we require the limit to approach the same value in all possible ways, which can be a stong condition. Sometimes it is helpful to define and use derivatives which are defined by some restricted direction of approach. We must never confused such restricted derivatives with the derivative, but often we may conclude from the existence and behavior of such restricted derivatives that the derivative exists. This is what is done when we conclude from the Cauchy–Riemann equations that the derivative of some function exists.

That is a point of confusion to me too. Why is it helpful to have that restriction in the complex case?
The other thing that makes me some confusion is that we can see a complex function as a function from R^2->R^2. If we think this way doesn't the complex derivative should be given through the Jacobian matrix, because of the multivariable derivative definition?