Central Force And Scattering

In summary, a central force is a type of force that acts on an object towards a fixed point in space, known as the center of force. This force causes an object to move in a curved path, or orbit, around the center of force. The relationship between central force and angular momentum is that they are directly proportional to each other. Scattering occurs when an object is deflected or changes direction due to the interaction with a central force. Some examples of central force in nature include the gravitational force, electrostatic force, and nuclear force.
elibj123
I'm trying to understand Central Force problems and Scattering (from a central force) but the website of my course (I'm studying Analytical Mechanics) doesn't offer very good matterial on the subject.
Can anyone suggest good papers about it, accompanied by problems and their solutions?

Thanks.

Science news on Phys.org

Central force and scattering are important concepts in analytical mechanics, and it is understandable that you are seeking additional resources to better understand them. I would suggest looking for textbooks or research papers specifically focused on these topics, as they will likely provide more in-depth and comprehensive explanations.

Some recommended resources on central force and scattering include "Classical Mechanics" by John R. Taylor, "Introduction to Classical Mechanics" by David Morin, and "Scattering Theory: The Quantum Theory of Nonrelativistic Collisions" by John R. Taylor. These texts offer detailed explanations and examples of central force problems and scattering.

In addition, you can also search for research papers on these topics in academic databases such as JSTOR or Google Scholar. These papers often include theoretical discussions and practical applications of central force and scattering, as well as problem sets with solutions.