Alright so here is another thing I do not fully

• Thread starter cp05
  • Start date
In summary: The fluctuations in the field energy prevent the energy density from being averaged over all spacetime points, and so the universe ends up being very smooth, despite being inflationary.
cp05
Alright so here is another thing I do not fully understand.

Inflation is this huge, fast expansion that apparently causes the small perturbations that eventually lead into the structure we see today.

But if I think about it, wouldn't a fast expansion actually eliminate perturbations? Because the universe would be expanding faster than the perturbations can collapse. How is inflation able to create these tiny perturbations instead of destroying them?

Space news on Phys.org

Hm ... I'm new to this too but my impression is that inflation not only did not create the perturbations, it is what explains why the perturbations are not much larger than they are. Only if inflation happened (well, the only way folks can think of now) is it the case that the CMB varies by only 1/100,000 over the entire observable U.

cp05 said:

Inflation is this huge, fast expansion that apparently causes the small perturbations that eventually lead into the structure we see today.

But if I think about it, wouldn't a fast expansion actually eliminate perturbations? Because the universe would be expanding faster than the perturbations can collapse. How is inflation able to create these tiny perturbations instead of destroying them?
Well, it tends to do both. Basically, inflation tends to massively dilute anything that happens to be in our universe when inflation begins, so that you end up with a very smooth universe. But there are also zero-point fluctuations of the inflaton field which produce very, very tiny fluctuations.