Paving the way to neuroscience

In summary, the speaker is studying an unconventional course in university that covers both chemistry and pharmacology. They have a strong interest in neuroscience and are considering transferring to a biotechnology course in order to pursue it. They are also wondering if they can take supplementary modules in psychology and how long it would take to complete a neuroscience degree after completing biotechnology. The advice given is that a strong foundation in biology and psychology, along with some basic chemistry and physics courses, will prepare them for a further degree in neuroscience.
HorseBox
Hi I'm studying an unconventional course in uni that covers both chemistry and pharmacology. I've decided its neuroscience I want to get into and all along its been my subconscious motivation for studying chemistry and pharmacology. I've only just started my first year which is an overlap year that covers the same content as all the other related courses such as biotechnology. In other words I can easily transfer to another course at the end of the year if I need to. What I'm wondering is if I would be better off transferring to biotechnology if I want to study neuroscience in the long run. Its definitely not just the effects that pharmaceuticals have on the brain that fascinates me its pretty much everything to do with the brain that has me fascinated. Any recommendations?

Physics news on Phys.org
Any strong foundation in biology and psychology with some basic chemistry and physics courses thrown in will prepare you for a further degree in neuroscience.

Moonbear said:
Any strong foundation in biology and psychology with some basic chemistry and physics courses thrown in will prepare you for a further degree in neuroscience.