Cauchy Reimann & Complex functions

In summary, the conversation is about a mechanical engineer who needs to revise on Engineering Math, particularly Calculus and Laplace Transforms. They are discussing Complex Variables and Functions in Laplace Transforms, specifically checking if a given function satisfies Cauchy-Riemann and is analytic. The process of rationalizing the denominator is explained, leading to the derivation of Gx and Gy. The person asking for help expresses gratitude for the explanation.
phiby
I am a mechanical engineer who hasn't done any mechanical engineering for close to 20 years & hence forgotten all Mechanical Engineering & all Engineering Mathematics.

I need to revise on some Engineering Math now - Calculus, Laplace Transforms etc. I have been doing it for a couple of days.

I am getting stuck in a discussion of Complex Variables & Complex functions in Laplace Transforms.

G(s) = 1/(s+1)

We are trying to check if this satisfies Cachy-Reimann & hence analytic.

This is how the analysis goes in the notes I am referring to

G(σ + jω) = 1/(σ + jω + 1) = Gx + jGy ---------- (1)

From this, the next line says
"where

Gx = (σ + 1)/ ( (σ + 1)2 + ω2)
Gy = (-ω)/( (σ + 1)2 + ω2)
"

I don't see how you get Gx & Gy from (1)

Can someone help?

If this is based on some other Math stuff which I need to study before getting here, do let me know.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
You have
[tex]\frac{1}{\sigma+ 1+ j\omega}[/tex]
and, essentially, you want to "rationalize the denominator".

Multiply both numerator and denominator of that fraction by [itex]\sigma+ 1- j\omega[/itex], the "complex conjugate" of the denominator:
[tex]\frac{1}{\sigma+ 1+ j\omega}\frac{\sigma+ 1- j\omega}{\sigma+ 1- j\omega}[/tex]