Crystal Lattice Structures

In summary, Kenichi from Japan is seeking advice on which libraries to use with C programming language to draw 3D crystal lattice structures. He is a C novice and is wondering if those libraries can also be used for chemical simulation research. He has tried using OpenGL but struggled with drawing bonds and was advised to use Windows programming, which he believes would take longer. He urgently needs help on how to model a movable chemical compound in 3D space.
Taros
Hello, my name is Kenichi, from japan.
Inorder to draw Crystal Lattice 3D Structures, what libraries for free out there to be used with C programming language ? I am still a C novice.
I wonder, in chemical simulation research do you also program using C language plus some libraries to drawing, modeling etc.

I used to hear of opengl, and i tried it too, but i could only draw 2 3d spheres with no bond because i don't know how to draw a bond :blushing:, and it really took me a lot of time, perhaps even much much more if i wanted to complete the whole structure of a crystal compound.

Also, some people advise me to use windows programming, but i think this is like crazy because windows programming needs me to code much logner than opengl. is it correct ?

What should i do now, please advice me. I need urgently help from you on how to modelling a movable chemical compound in 3d space.

Thank you.

-Kenichi Taro

Computer science news on Phys.org
Hello Kenichi,

There are several free libraries available for drawing crystal lattice structures in 3D. Some popular ones include VTK (Visualization Toolkit), Open Babel, and Avogadro. These libraries offer a range of features and are commonly used in chemical simulation research.