Realistic Goals for Math Career w/ Drama Background?

• Thread starter futurebird
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is interested in pursuing mathematics in their career, specifically learning graph theory, teaching math courses, and furthering their general math knowledge. They have a background in drama but also took math courses in college and taught high school algebra for four years. They are planning on enrolling in a graduate program for pure math and are considering pursuing a PhD in graph theory. They are also looking for ways to continue learning and studying graph theory, including potentially starting a study group at their school.
futurebird
Hello everyone. I really want to do a few things with mathematics in my life:

1. Learn graph theory.
2. Teach, something like freshman calc or linear algebra
3. Learn more math in general

My backgrounds is a little... shall we say different... as and undergrad I majored in drama (drama as in writing plays) because that's what I got a scholarship to study. On the side I took courses in game theory and linear algebra. I went to carnegie mellon and the math and economics courses I took were really solid. I've always loved math and programming computers.

Then for 4 year I taught high school algebra. I took some more math courses: multivariable calculus, discrete math and some other course required for high school teachers. They were all pretty easy, but at least it kept my mind active.

But, I didn't want to stop learning math! If you major in math education you don't get to go very far... So, I'm enrolling in grad school for pure math instead in a few months. Right now I'm taking undergrad Complex Variables to prepare.

The thing is they have *NO* graph theory courses at my school. But since my math background is a little patchy my plan is to get a masters in pure math and then look for PHD program where I can learn some graph theory.