Does a pure math major need to take ODEs?

In summary, Right now I'm a sophomore at a state uni with hopes of getting into graduate school in pure mathematics. When I was a freshman, I surveyed the three major areas of math - analysis, algebra, and topology - and I decided that analysis was for me. Although I did very well in Algebra, I found it unbearably boring (is this a problem?) Anyway, as sophomore I've taken measure and lebesgue theory, complex variables, graduate group theory and rings all of which were graduate courses, and now I'm taking functional analysis, and probability, and algebraic topology. However, I was told I need to take ODEs - not even a proof heavy one. Just the
Konradd
Right now I'm a sophomore at a state uni with hopes of getting into graduate school in pure mathematics.
When I was a freshman, I surveyed the three major areas of math - analysis, algebra, and topology - and I decided that analysis was for me. Although I did very well in Algebra, I found it unbearably boring (is this a problem?) Anyway, as sophomore I've taken measure and lebesgue theory, complex variables, graduate group theory and rings all of which were graduate courses, and now I'm taking functional analysis, and probability, and algebraic topology.

However, I was told I need to take ODEs - not even a proof heavy one. Just the typical "how to solve ODEs" course. I think this is ridiculous..as I could probably learn the material in a couple of weeks. Any advice on how to get exempt from this requirement?

Thanks everyone.

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't comment to specifically on whether or not you should take the class but when I wanted to skip over the first semester of physics I just asked the department chair if I could and he said ok.

Konradd said:
I think this is ridiculous..as I could probably learn the material in a couple of weeks. Any advice on how to get exempt from this requirement?