Does anyone have wireless with Fedora?

• Thread starter Townsend
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Wireless
In summary, the conversation relates to the installation of Fedora on a laptop and the lack of drivers for wireless cards. The use of ndiswrapper to install Windows drivers in Linux is discussed, with one user providing simplified instructions for the process. The topic of video card drivers is also briefly mentioned, with a suggestion to try the madwifi driver for an Atheros chipset. The conversation ends with the original poster expressing gratitude for the help provided.
Townsend
I just installed Fedora on my laptop and it works pretty good, no major problems or anything like that. My only complaint is the lack of drivers for wireless cards. there is something called ndiswrap that can be used to make your window drivers work in linux but it is pretty complicated to do and I am a total novice. Have any of you gone through this process of installing a windows driver for your wireless card?

If so maybe you could help me out with some advice on how this is done.

Thanks

Computer science news on Phys.org
What wireless card are you using?

Gigabyte GN-WPEAG wireless network PCI Adapter

I have checked everywhere for drivers. The link you provided has some Ndis wrapper drivers there too but like I said they seem pretty complicated to install.

I appreciate the help..

Installing a windows driver with ndiswrapper isn't that hard. Here is some simplified instructions:

1. Make sure you have the kernel sources installed. On the fedora cd it is called the kernel development packages.

2. Download ndiswrapper:
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/ndiswrapper/ndiswrapper-1.0.tar.gz?download

3. Extract ndiswrapper with the following command-line statement:

tar -zxvf <whatever your file is called.tar.gz>

Just put the filename.tar.gz of ndiswrapper after the -zxvf

4. cd <ndiswrapper directory>

When the files get extracted see which folder was created.

5. su