Why is exit wound in a rifle gun shot injury bigger than entry wound?

• Thread starter sameeralord
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gun Wound
In summary, the larger wound is caused by the bullet exiting the body. This is due to the bullet's spin being disrupted and the increased kinetic energy.
sameeralord
Hi,

Generally if u see a post mortem skull after a rifle shot injury, exit wound is bigger than entry wound. Shouldn't the bullet lose lots of its energy when coming out, hence smaller wound. Maybe it is spinning or something, but I want to get others views. Thanks :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Well I'm no expert on ballistics but I think it's actually the other way round , when a bullet or any sharp edged small projectile come in with a high speed it places huge stresses on a very small point on the surface of the target (human body for example) that's why because flesh is usually not the strongest material around it makes a very small hole because penetration at those speeds is easy for the bullet , when coming out the bullet has lost some of it's kinetic energy (speaking about rifle ammo not some pistol one) with lower speeds the stress that the bullet now exerts is smaller on the same surface area.
It's like puncturing a paper with a sharp pen or something the faster you do it the more chance of making a precise point hole the slower you do it the more the chance of ripping the whole paper sheet apart.Also even though at those speeds it is not common but the bullet can turn and change it's trajectory while between the two sides of the skull after the first initial impact, also it can change it's shape after the impact and the next impact would be with a slower bullet that has a more dull edge rather than a sharp one as before the first impact.
In other words it has to do with mass/size or shape rather and speed.

Here is an article discussing the basics:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballistic_trauma