Qus on Chemistry for a Physics Major

In summary, as a freshman Physics major planning for my second semester, I am considering completing a double major by taking two maths and two physics classes per semester. This will leave me with 9 credits, which I am thinking of using for Graduate level courses. However, one of the recommended courses is the first half of intro to chem, which may not be necessary for some graduate programs. It is best to check with your school's requirements and speak with an advisor to determine the necessary courses to take. On average, math and physics majors take around 15-18 credits per semester, but this can vary.
LBloom
Hi, I'm a freshman Physics major heading planning for my second semester (starting sophomore physics b/c of APs yay!) Anyway, I was planning out my next 3 years based on the outline my school gives for physics majors heading to Graduate school, and I figured if I take two maths and two physics classes a semester, I can complete a double major with at least 9 credits left (assuming my research takes up 6 credits, the max). For the most part, I'll only be taking 16/15 credits per semester (except for three when I'll be taking 18/18/19). Anyway, I was figuring that with the 9 credits I have left over, I should take Graduate level classes.

However, one of the classes they recommend is the first half of intro to chem, which will take up at least 5 credits. For ppl that are going to graduate school, is chem really necessary? I mean, I don't expect it to be difficult, but i don't really want to be taking 20 credits per semester or sacrifice graduate courses. After all, if I really need to learn chem, wouldn't opencourseware suffice? Also, how many credits do math/physics majors usually take per semester?

Physics news on Phys.org