Help Needed: Understanding Bessel Functions & Schrodinger Equations

In summary, Bessel functions are special mathematical functions used to solve differential equations in various fields of science. They are important because they help us understand complex systems and phenomena, such as waves and heat transfer. Bessel functions are also closely related to the Schrodinger equation, which is a fundamental equation in quantum mechanics. There are different types of Bessel functions with specific properties and applications. In real-world applications, Bessel functions are used in fields such as acoustics, electromagnetics, and quantum mechanics. While they may be difficult to understand, with the right knowledge and practice, they can be effectively applied in various scenarios.
somy
Hi there ;
I wanted you to help me with a problem.
Well, I'm now studying griffiths' quantum book and now I'm trying the three dimensional schrodinger equation.
I just wanted to know more about bessel functions. Can anyone give me a link for it? Some useful book will be good too.
Thanks a lot
Somy :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Check this out: http://mathworld.wolfram.com/BesselDifferentialEquation.html/ follow various links and you should get an idea of its facets.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks 'speeding electron'!
The link was very useful and complete.
Somy

1. What are Bessel functions and why are they important in science?

Bessel functions are a type of special mathematical function that are used to solve differential equations in many areas of science, including physics and engineering. They are important because they allow us to model and understand complex systems and phenomena, such as waves, vibrations, and heat transfer.

2. How are Bessel functions related to Schrodinger equations?