Questions About Intervals in Calculus for 14 Year Olds

In summary, the conversation revolved around a problem involving intervals and the symbols for union and intersection. The problem was asking for the intersection of two intervals, but the answer given was for the union. The symbols "(" and "[" represent open and closed ends, respectively. A helpful method for solving unions and intersections is to draw a number line and plot both sets. The union is all the numbers in both sets, while the intersection is the common numbers.
Ygmaince241
Ok, I'm very new to calculus, and was stuck on the very basics of it. I'm only 14, but am extremely interested in math and science. I was inspired to study calculus when reading a book named, "Five Equations that changed the World", by Michael Guillen. Now I was doing some problems involving intervals. The book tells me to sketch the sets. The one problem is (-3,2] U (1, 7]. What exactly does the U stand for? The answer they gave for the example was, (1,2]. I know "(" stands for an open end, and "[" stands for a closed end. How do these apply to the sets. I couldn't see how they got the answer. Please help.

Physics news on Phys.org
[tex]\cup[/tex] is union.

But are you sure the problem didn't ask for the intersection, (-3, 2] [tex]\cap[/tex] (1, 7], of the intervals...?

Last edited:
Ygmaince241 said:
Ok, I'm very new to calculus, and was stuck on the very basics of it. I'm only 14, but am extremely interested in math and science. I was inspired to study calculus when reading a book named, "Five Equations that changed the World", by Michael Guillen. Now I was doing some problems involving intervals. The book tells me to sketch the sets. The one problem is (-3,2] U (1, 7]. What exactly does the U stand for? The answer they gave for the example was, (1,2]. I know "(" stands for an open end, and "[" stands for a closed end. How do these apply to the sets. I couldn't see how they got the answer. Please help.