Is Rossi's Cold Fusion the Real Deal?

In summary, the conversation is about the controversial claims made by Rossi regarding his cold fusion invention. While there have been many fraudulent claims for free energy machines, the Rossi claims have been supported by multiple demonstrations and tests. The amounts of energy being produced are significant and skeptics have been allowed to devise their own tests, ruling out any possibility of fraud. The inventors are not asking for any money and have repeatedly stated they will not accept any until their invention is proven to work. Despite this, the conversation has been declared closed until the invention is fully developed and working.
cmooo
I've been intrigued to see the Rossi claims being dismissed outright here, without any apparent examination of the evidence. There is pathological science, but there is the opposite - pathological refusal to accept any evidence.

Personally, as a scientist and engineer, I prefer to keep an open mind on the mysterious, rather than a blanket refusal to accept things just because I do not understand them.

While there have been dozens of fraudulent claims for 'free energy machines', most of which follow a similar path (e.g Steorn) of never giving public demonstrations, providing little or no evidence, continual delays, and taking customers money. These are usually quickly and easily dismissed as frauds (and rightly so).

The Rossi Cold Fusion claims are not like this, and are unlike any scam I've ever come across.

Instead of dismissing it out of hand, here are some of the salient points;
- They have now made five demonstrations to independent third parties. They originally planned to give one only, but were persuaded by skeptics who said their first demo wasn't proof enough, to give further demonstrations.
- All the parties attending the demonstrations (dozens of people now) have been unable to find any obvious, or even non-obvious ways in which the tests can have been faked.