Dielectric Barrier Discharge Plasma Discharge Circuit

In summary, a student from Mechanical Engineering is working on a final year project involving a high voltage discharge circuit for DBD plasma. They are facing a problem with the discharge current remaining the same despite changing the distance between electrodes and the air resistance and capacitance. They are unsure if the circuit or configuration is incorrect or if the measurement method is causing the issue. They appreciate any help and have included a schematic diagram of the circuit.
cyho
To anyone that can help me,

Hello everyone. I am student from Mechanical Engineering and I am very new to electronic field. I currently doing my final year project which is developing the high voltage discharge circuit for the DBD plasma. The middle electronic elements is the representative of the two electrodes (the main discharge element) in electronic form.

The problem I facing is when I try to increase the distance of electrodes which mean the air resistance increase(let say from 33.3T ohms to 50T ohms) and air capacitance decrease (10.68fF to 6fF), The discharge current across the capacitor on the right which is C2 still remain the same which is 1.571kA(this is for first value 33.3T ohms and 10.68fF).

Is that my circuit is wrong or the configuration of my circuit is wrong? Or is due to the measurement method (I using oscilloscpoe to measure it across the capacitor with the help of probe)?

Thanks in advanced for any help that you all give me, I am appreciate it.

Regards
Ho

Engineering news on Phys.org
The schematic diagram is as below. Thanks.

Attachments

• DBD Plasma Discharge Circuit.jpg
    DBD Plasma Discharge Circuit.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 587

1. What is a Dielectric Barrier Discharge (DBD) Plasma Discharge Circuit?