Calculate a polynomial function from other polynomial functions

In summary, the speaker is a student working on a thesis involving near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) and the calibration of a NIR scanner to accurately measure moisture content in different materials and mixtures of these materials. They are using a polynomial function of 2nd degree to plot calibration curves and determine the moisture content in percent using the absorbance values. They have already plotted calibration graphs for wood, textiles, and PVC and now want to calculate a new calibration graph for a mixture of these materials. They plan to calculate the polynomial coefficients based on the percentages of each component and cite a source to support their calculation.
drpratai
Background information:

I have come up against a mathematical question which I as somebody with relatively limited exposure to maths can not seem to answer. I am a student working on a thesis dealing with near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS). The NIR scanner is able to measure the moisture content in different materials. The scanner outputs two values: Absorbance and moisture content in percent. Currently, the scanner is not calibrated and the moisture content in percent is therefore inaccurate. My objective is to calibrate the scanner with regards to the moisture content for different materials as well as for different mixtures of these materials. To do this I am plotting calibration curves by taking a material (e.g. wood) and preparing several samples with different moisture contents between 0 and 40 %. I then scan the samples and record the absorbance values. Parallel to this I determine the moisture contents of the samples in the laboratory using drying ovens.