Delhi gang-rape victim dies in hospital in Singapore

• News
  • Thread starter rootX
  • Start date
In summary, Dr. Anita Shukla blames the victim of the Delhi gang rape for her own rape, and this insensitive statement is appalling. She has a medical degree and should be more aware of the trauma that rape victims go through.
rootX
Physics news on Phys.org
lisab said:
The root of the issue lies in the culture, IMO.
Yes I also think the same, this is the reason I think there's no solution in foreseeable future. Cultures take time to change and in Asia/Africa are lagging far behind the current time.

If death penalty is the worst punishment that can be given, least it's the thing that the offenders deserve the most IMO.

As an Indian by ethnicity and a Singaporean by nationality, this heinous crime horrifies me. I'm a doctor, but I had no direct role in her care. I'm immensely saddened by the poor girl's death, but hope she's found some sort of peace (even though I don't believe in an afterlife).

The most insensitive comments pertaining to this incident have come, ironically enough, from a woman, and an educated one at that (a supposed "agricultural scientist"):

In a shocking reaction to the Delhi gang-rape victim, Dr. Anita Shukla ironically blamed the victim herself for the crime committed; at a seminar in Khargone,M.P. The police department had called for a seminar on the topic, ‘Sensitivity towards women'.

Continuing with her blames she said, ‘Women instigate men to commit such crimes'. She also raised that why was the victim out of her house after 10 pm and added that if a girl will wander late at night with her boyfriend; such situations are bound to happen.

In a strange reaction to such comments, most of the senior officials remained silent. Shukla asserted that police cannot give extreme protection to every citizen at all times. She commented, ‘The victim should have surrendered when surrounded by six men, at least it could have saved her intestines'.