Help making a digital delay circuit

In summary, Bob is looking for a programmable digital delay circuit that can delay a pulse by a few nanoseconds. He is looking for help in designing and creating the circuit, and is interested in any pointers or help that may be available.
k.stuart.p
right... i need to make a programmable digital delay circuit that can delay a pulse by a few nanoseconds. sorry if any of the following info is vague, I am only an apprentice and i have taken this on as a college project, but the poduct will be used at work in a calibration lab, but i am not too knowledgeable as of yet so I am very much an amateur.

anyhoo, what it will be used for is calibration of TDR's/cable testers. i need it to be able to take in a pulse and delay it by a programmable amount, down to about a 10ns delay. i know a product exists for this, but buying a product is no fun :) not to mention expensive...
it will need to take in the pulse from the TDR, delay it, and send it back. this will replicate the function of the TDR in real conditions.
as i mentioned it will need to be programmable, possibly by means of a binary input (so I've been told :s)

im still in the mind mapping stage, if you want to get technical then great, but even small pointers will be greatly appreciated. circuit schematics, specific ICs, i will accept anything

thanks in advance

Engineering news on Phys.org
The speed of light is about 30 cm, or 1 foot per nansosecond, equivalent to about 8 inches of RG-58. We used to use mechanical switches to make switchable delay-line boxes (e.g., 10, 20, 40, 80 ns). 80 ns cable is ~[STRIKE]64[/STRIKE] 640 inches. Sounds kind of old fashioned, but coaxial cable has better fidelity than most digital delays.
Bob S

Last edited:
k.stuart.p said: