Graduate School Advice Needed: Where to Apply with my stats & backup schools

In summary, for backup schools in your search for physics graduate programs, consider University of California, Santa Barbara, University of Maryland, College Park, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, University of Colorado, Denver, and University of Wisconsin, Madison, as well as smaller liberal arts colleges such as Swarthmore, Williams, and Amherst.
nikkilou
Graduate School Advice Needed: Where to Apply with my stats & "backup" schools

As an undergraduate I've studied engineering physics. It seems in general that graduate students in engineering have a lower gpa than those in physics or math. I have since decided I would like to do physics research and will be applying to physics graduate programs in the next month. While I know my top choices (CU-Boulder and UIUC) I am still investigating some more realistic schools and would like input. If anyone knows of schools I should consider as backups or has gotten into schools and has statistics similar to mine please let me know. Thanks.

Undergraduate Institute: Small State School known for engineering
Major: Engineering Physics
Minor: Chemistry
Overall GPA: 3.40
GPA in last year: 3.63
Research: 1 REU in Bioengineering
Other work: 9 month position as mechanical engineer, tutor
Extras: 3 season Student athlete, SPS, EWB

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi there,

First of all, congratulations on your decision to pursue physics research and your top choices of CU-Boulder and UIUC. Those are both excellent programs with strong research opportunities.

In terms of backup schools, I would recommend looking into the following options:

1. University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB): This school has a strong physics program and is known for its research in condensed matter physics. Your background in engineering could be a valuable asset in this field.