How to solve this 2nd order nonlinear differential equation

In summary, a grad student in meteorology is seeking help with a 2nd order non linear differential equation, which can be solved analytically by using the substitution y' = u and reducing it to a first order system of two ODEs. The second equation is separable and solvable, leading to a straightforward analytic solution. Additional assistance is requested for rewriting u in terms of y.
tornado681
Hello all,

This is the first time I've stumbled across this site, but it appears to be extremely helpful. I am a meteorology grad student, and in my research, I have run across the following 2nd order non linear differential equation. It is of the form:

y'' + a*y*y' + b*y=0

where a and b are constants

Can this equation be solved analytically? If not, what program does one recommend for solving it numerically? There is also a slightly more complex form of this equation:

y'' + a*y*y' + b*y=c

where a, b and c are constants

If anyone could assist me in solving this or direct me to a source for solving it numerically, it would be most appreciated.

Thanks,

--tornado

Physics news on Phys.org
Try the substitution y' = u to reduce it to a first order system of two ODEs. (Source:Tenenbaum/Pollard)
Ie., your first ODE becomes the system y' = u, uu' = -ayu - by, where in the second eq. u is treated as u(y) and u' = du/dy, which we can then plug into the first equation to integrate for y(x). The second equation is separable, so there is a straightforward analytic solution.

Last edited:
slider142 said:
Try the substitution y' = u to reduce it to a first order system of two ODEs. (Source:Tenenbaum/Pollard)
Ie., your first ODE becomes the system y' = u, uu' = -ayu - by, where in the second eq. u is treated as u(y) and u' = du/dy, which we can then plug into the first equation to integrate for y(x). The second equation is separable, so there is a straightforward analytic solution.

slider,