Do extracurricular activities matter for grad school in math?

• Thread starter kbfrob
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discussed the importance of extracurricular activities in graduate school admissions. One person expressed concern about their lack of involvement in clubs and community service, but the other person stated that graduate schools care more about academic abilities and research experience. They advised the person to focus on developing their skills in math and research, and to consider taking challenging courses and getting involved in research with a professor to enhance their application.
kbfrob
I am currently a math undergrad with my sights set on an elite grad school for pure school.
My question to what degree to grad school consider your extraciricular activies, i.e. clubs, community service, honor societies.
I have an excellent gpa, but I'm worried that my lack of activities will hold me back. I'm not involved in any clubs. I'm a member of a couple honor societies, but not particularly active.
Should i make a more conscious effort to get involved and boost my resume?

Physics news on Phys.org
What I think is more important is that you work on your spelling and general use of English. Grad schools care much less about extracurriculars than college admission offices, but they do care if you can express yourself clearly and in a way that will be a credit to the department.

Come on, Van, it (sans title) wasn't that bad :tongue: