Large scale electromagnetic hover sculpture HELP [really quite ]

In summary, a professor in physics told me that an induction coil can create a zone of zero force in the center of the coil, which can cause a metallic object to be levitated. The coil would have to be twisted in a special way to create this effect, and the size and power drain of such a construction is unknown.
s2mega
large scale electromagnetic hover sculpture... HELP! [really quite urgent...]

Hi all!

i'm a design student, trying to find out about the feasibility of a project I'm working on...

http://i.1asphost.com/s2mega/magnet.jpg

the concept goes like this: a "bowl" structure, lined with electromagnets, all with the same polarity facing towards the centre of the bowl, levitates a large chrome-finished ball (built as light as possible from perhaps fibre-glass or any other light-weight material, to lessen the load on the mechanism), within which is magnet/electromagent constructs which give the object an opposite polarity, which brings me to my first question:

1. is it possible to have entirely a single polarity on an magnetically charged object? either negatively or positively... if it is impossible then...

a second concept involves a cable running from the base of the ball to the base of the bowl, holding it while its negative pole is on the underside of the ball, repelled by the positive pole facing up at the bottom of the bowl, but held in place by the cable. theoretically i think is is quite sound... i hope.

2. is this feasible? and,

3. if so, what kind of power drain would be needed to power such a construction? would it be feasible as a sculpure?

4. is there a magnetic-field retardant material that could force the field to not radiate off the side of the sculpture, possibly ripping zips and gold teeths off unsuspecting viewers?

5. how big would the magnetic field be if one of this magnitude was constructed? with shielding? without shielding?