A- Grades and Their Impact on Graduate School Admissions

• Thread starter ahsanxr
  • Start date
In summary, the person is a freshman with a double major in Physics and Math and has a long term goal of attending a top graduate school. They are concerned about receiving A- grades instead of solid A's and wonder if this will significantly hinder their chances of admission. Other individuals in the conversation assure them that A- grades are not a big deal and they should not worry. They also suggest that the person should focus on improving their study habits to avoid making small mistakes. The conversation also mentions that the grading system at top schools like MIT and Harvard may be different and slightly inflated compared to other universities. Overall, A- grades are not a cause for concern and the person should focus on their overall GPA and other factors that will make them a
ahsanxr
I'm a freshman, Physics and Math double major with a long term goal to enter a top notch graduate school in one of the fields. My question is should I be worried if I get a lot of A- grades instead of solid "A"s? I think that might be the case for me this semester. I probably got an A in Calc III but from what the present situation seems like I'll probably have "A-"s in Intro Physics II, Fundamentals of Computational Physics, Differential Equations and my English Writing class. Is this something which will significantly hinder my chances of getting into a top graduate school? Do schools care whether you have an A or an A-?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, you might as well drop out of school all together.

Alright, I should have clarified. I'm not one of those people who freak out and say things like "my life is over" when they see one B+. I just want to know whether top schools like say MIT or Harvard would care about such a thing. Even though I could have gotten A's in all of these classes, I'm still rather content with A-'s too.

ahsanxr said: