Is it worth taking GRE General Test before the major change in August 1st, 2011

In summary: I think you are right. The general test is just a requirement forced on departments by the graduate school. Most physics departments don't really care about it.I think you are right.
Ashuron
The thing is GRE will have a major change starting from August 1st, 2011.
The question types and scoring will be changed.
It will be called as GRE Revised General Test.
I have read somewhere the last time a major change was introduced(in 2002), there are some significant drops in scores fro the following years..

I am in my second year of my Physics Bsc.
For the graduate school applications, I must take it next year at the latest.

Those guides and books for GRE will become obsolete soon.
I am thinking whether is it a good idea before the changes take place? before August this year
That way, I am actually have around 4 months for preparation if I am taking the July test dates.

I am trying to make my decision soon enough, I am afraid there will be no seat left.

Any input is helpful.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think it is a bad idea as there are bound to be some unforeseen issues with the new test. Your GRE scores are good for five years so if you are planning to attend graduate school right after undergrad then your scores will still be good. I don't think you will necessarily need 4 months to prepare for the exam though.

I was now checking the ets website, and something is unclear to me. Will they only change the general test (i.e. writing, critical reading...)? or they will change the subject tests as well (i.e. Math GRE, Physics GRE...)?

I think I will have no option but to take the revised version. Weird, the scores will be in a scale less than 200.

The GRE general makes up only a small component to physics departments admissions decisions. That said, if you have the money to spare, what does it hurt?