Calculating Wattage of a Light Bulb in a Soot-Covered Room

In summary, a light bulb covered in black soot in a room maintained at 20 degrees celsius has an equilibrium temperature of 100 degrees celsius. The wattage of the bulb cannot be determined without additional information such as the size or surface area of the bulb.
ritwik06
A light bulb is completely covered with a thin coat of black soot in a room maintained at 20 degree celsius. If the shell has an equilibrium temperature of 100 degree celsius. What is the wattage of the bulb?

I can't understand how to do it. I am a student of 9th standard.

Physics news on Phys.org
ritwik06 said:
A light bulb is completely covered with a thin coat of black soot in a room maintained at 20 degree celsius. If the shell has an equilibrium temperature of 100 degree celsius. What is the wattage of the bulb?

I can't understand how to do it. I am a student of 9th standard.
Do they give you the radius or area of the lightbulb?

AM

Andrew Mason said:
Do they give you the radius or area of the lightbulb?

AM

No nothing at all! I have provided everything given at the question. If it isn't possible just tell me a way hot to prove that the given data is insufficient. :smile:

1. How do I calculate the wattage of a light bulb in a soot-covered room?

To calculate the wattage of a light bulb in a soot-covered room, you will need to know the luminous flux (measured in lumens) and the efficacy (measured in lumens per watt) of the bulb. The formula is: Wattage = Luminous Flux / Efficacy. This will give you the wattage of the bulb in a clean room. To account for the soot-covered room, you will also need to multiply the calculated wattage by the absorption coefficient (typically around 0.9 for a soot-covered room).

2. How does soot affect the wattage of a light bulb?